ILTON PARISH COUNCIL Minutes of the Annual Parish Meeting held in Merryfield Hall on Tuesday 14th May 2019

Attendance and Apologies

Those present:

Mr I Sherwood (Chair) Mrs R Burt (Vice Chair)

Mrs M Bullock
Mr G Fox
Ms H Wakeford
Mr I Welch

Mr M Cavill (District Councillor)
Mrs S Morley (Clerk)

Mrs J Easterbrook Mrs S Hill Mrs P Matravers Mr A Dance (County Councillor)

Apologies

In Attendance

5 members of the public

1. Report of the Chairman of Ilton Parish Council for 2018/2019

This will be my last Chairman's report as I have taken the decision to step down from the Parish Council at the end of this term of office. I have been a member of Ilton Parish Council for over 25 years and felt that the time has come to stand aside and make room for new people to keep moving Ilton forward and make it a great place to live.

I would firstly like to thank Ian Sherwood for his continued dedicated work as Vice Chairman and for ensuring the recently appointed Ranger is concentrating his efforts in tidying up areas of the village that have been previously missed.

Thank you also to Rosemary Burt for her work as Planning rep visiting proposed sites and offering useful points to help the council to make informed decisions. Also thanks to Rosemary and her family for keeping the flower trough looking wonderful throughout the year.

Huge thanks must go to Ian Welch who has worked tirelessly over the past year on the new sports field and being instrumental in getting the new MUGA installed last summer. Very shortly the new outdoor Gym equipment will be installed and work is well underway on the new football pitch, perimeter path and meadow area. The allotments have now been finalised and are under way which I hope many villagers will participate in and will prove successful. I would also like to thank all the other councillors for their continued work in our community, and for giving their time freely. My thanks go to Sue Morley for her support and dedicated work as Clerk and also to Sue Steele for her excellent support to Ilton not only last year but during her many years as our District Councillor. Thank you also to Adam Dance as our County Councillor who has helped to improve the bus service to the village.

Throughout the last year, we have continued to have a number of vacancies on the Parish Council. During the year we welcomed Jan Easterbrook and George Fox. I am sure they will make a valuable contribution to the Council and the Community

The past year the Parish Council has continued to commit to maintaining green spaces such as the Cemetery and Brook Green to benefit our residents.

Sadly the Parish Council was unable to put up a Christmas tree on the Village green. This was due to a number of factors including volunteers to help erect, decorate and remove and also work was required to ensure that the fixing for the tree was safe.

During the past year the Council has been very happy to see members of the community continuing to attend meetings and ask questions. This is very welcome and shows that the community want to be engaged in what is happening in Ilton. I hope that it will continue during the coming year giving constructive comments and even offering help to the community.

I am sure that the coming year will continue to be busy with the continued threat of significant change to local and national politics, and the large cuts in public service funding by the County Council, again attacking the most vulnerable people in our community causing more cuts in local services. It is more important than ever that our village continues to work together to maintain its assets, promote health and wellbeing, and safeguards its sustainability.

I wish you all well for the coming year and would like to thank you all for your support during my time serving Ilton Parish Council.

Dave Amor Chair Ilton Parish Council 2018/19

2. Public Voice

One question was asked about whether there is a proposal to build houses in the field behind St Peter's Close. The answer is that yes, this is proposed.

There were no more questions.

The meeting finished at 7.45 p.m.

Ian Sherwood - Chairman